Spring Forward

It is no secret I am thrilled that spring is just around the corner. After all of the sunshine this past weekend, I am really excited to begin incorporating some of the hottest spring/summer 2013 runway trends into my wardrobe. Here are four that I can’t wait to put my own personal spin on.

Local & Opulent Spring Trends 4

MOD – As seen at LOUIS VUITTON.

To pull this look off, think A-line mini dresses, Go-Go boots, Peter Pan collars and graphic prints. Don’t forget to load on the mascara and go with a nude lip. To keep your Mod look current and to avoid looking like you are on route to an Austen Powers themed costume party, limit your ensemble to one Mod inspired piece at a time. Update the rest of the look with the addition of modern accessories.

Local & Opulent Spring Trends 1

THE KIMONO – As seen at GARETH PUGH, HAIDER ACKERMANN and PRADA

Last summer I purchased the most gorgeous silk kimono from Canadian retailer Aritzia. Every time I go to wear it however, I back out, completely clueless about how to style it. This season the sleek, modern kimonos shown on the runways at Prada and Haider Ackermann have inspired me to reach back into the closet and give my kimono another chance.

Local & Opulent Spring Trends 3

PLEATS – As seen at STELLA McCARTNEY, CHLOE and ROCHAS

Pleats – they can be your best friend or your worst enemy. I happen to love pleats. They are feminine without being overly girly. I am completely obsessed with the unexpected ways in which pleating was used on Chloe’s garments this season.

Local & Opulent Spring Trends 2

FRINGE – As seen at NINA RICCI, BOTTEGA VENETA and VERSACE

One of my favorite books, The Great Gatsby, has been adapted to film and of course, the fashion industry has jumped all over the amazing flapper looks that dominated the 1920s. I have always loved intricately beaded dresses, t-strap pumps and headbands. Now I just have to find the perfect fringe dress…

*Photos courtesy of Style.com

1. Louis Vuitton, 2. Haider Ackermann, 3. Chloe, 4. Bottega Veneta

5 thoughts on “Spring Forward

Leave a comment