Milan, Ti Amo

A week ago if you had asked me what my favourite fashion week is, Milan would not have been at the top of my list. As I perused this season’s Italian collections I began to wonder why it is that I favour all other fashion weeks above Milan. I couldn’t come up with a good answer to that question. The designs were stunning. So stunning in fact, that I had to choose five top looks this week. Milan, you have changed my mind. I love you.

Local and Opulent Milan FW 1

This season, Unkle Karl sent punk models donning multi-hued mohawks down the Fendi runway. Great, now I want a purple mohawk.  As a proud Canadian girl, I am always scouring the collections from amazing outerwear trends. The bold coats at Fendi are sure to make even the grayest winter day a little brighter. I must also add that I am thrilled to report that the over-the-knee sock trend is back for fall! What can I say, I worship Cher Horowitz.

Local & Opulent Milan FW 2

Prada was bold from red lip to gold toe. I’m not sure what I love more; this aqua leather and fur embellished coat, or the gingham A-line skirt. I am feeling inspired to go on one fabulous picnic in that ensemble.

Local & Opulent Milan FW 3

Canadian duo Dsquared created one of the funkiest catwalks of the season. Men’s wear was the name of the game and each fantastic look was topped with a playful hat. I am in love with this feminine version of the tuxedo; glitter, bow tie, fur peplum, satin trousers and a fine chapeau; my head is saying no but my heart is saying yes, Yes, YES!

Local and Opulent Milan FW 4

This season at Missoni, they must have been thinking, what can we design that the charming Canadian blogger at Local & Opulent will just flip for? Every. Single. Piece. That’s what! Loose, comfortable and simple cuts dominated this runway. I love the pajama dressing trend and nobody does it better than Missoni.

Local and Opulent Milan FW 5

This season at Pucci was a throwback to the 1960s. All I want in life is to perfect that perfectly teased hair, precisely lined eye and pouty nude lip that defines ’60s beauty. I am not exaggerating when I say that I want to own every single look from this collection. Those boots are made for walking and they are made for my feet (size 38 please).

What looks from Milan are you excited to be rocking come fall?

*Photos courtesy of Style.com

9 thoughts on “Milan, Ti Amo

Leave a Reply

