Tartan, Feathers and Florals, Oh My!

Three major trends for Fall 2013 played out repeatedly on the runways at London Fashion Week; tartan, feathers and bold prints shown in either graphic black and white or intense clashes of bright colour. My top three looks from London are my favourite examples of each of these trends. I hope to be rocking them all come fall. Yes, even the feathers!

L&O LFW Temperly

I wonder if it is the Scot in me, but almost any time a designer shows tartan, I swoon. This was the case at Mulberry and Temperly London. I chose a look by Temperly to show you for two reasons. First of all, I love this casual suit, you can wear it as an outfit or as separates. When in doubt, buy the full suit – once it’s gone, it’s gone and you can’t go back and get those bottoms that you now regret not buying! The second reason that I chose this suit is the mix of black and blue. Once considered a fashion “no-no”, this colour combo was hot for Fall 2012 and is showing no signs of going anywhere, any time soon.

L&O LFW Erdem

Feathers were another major trend to grace the runways of London Fashion Week. Mark Fast featured them in nearly every look he showed. The best example of feathers was definitely at Erdem. I chose look 17 from his show because it is a great example of how an avant garde look can be worn off of the runway By pairing this feathered pencil skirt with a floral print blouse, Erdem proves that you can rock more than one trend at a time and still look polished. Also, did I forget to mention that he is Canadian? Awesome.

L&O LFW Tom Ford

Prints in every colour, shape and size took London Fashion Week by storm. From Matthew Williamson to Peter Pilotto and Burberry Prorsum, there was no shortage of bold prints on the runway.  My favourite example of this trend popped up in Tom Ford’s show. I chose this look because he mixed prints. Don’t fear fashion, you CAN mix prints; just remember to stay in the same colour family when doing so! Mixing prints is daring, and if you pull it off properly, you will be turning heads all the way down the street. If two prints is one print too many for you, try pairing a printed bottom with a lace top a la Mr. Ford.

So readers, is there anything I missed? What were your favourite looks from London?

*Images courtesy of Style.com

7 thoughts on “Tartan, Feathers and Florals, Oh My!

Leave a Reply

